Latest Quarantine Rules for Arrivals to Indonesia for Indonesian Citizens and Foreigners


The government has released the latest regulations for the Covid-19 prevention quarantine for the arrival of Indonesian citizens and foreigners from outside the territory of Indonesia.

This regulation is officially effective as of January 4, 2022, as stated in the Circular for Handling COVID-19 Number 1 of 2022 concerning Health Protocols for Overseas Travel during the COVID-19 Pandemic Period.

Quoting from the page, the circular stated that in order to follow up on the development of the situation of the spread of the SARS-CoV-2 virus in various countries in the world (Omicron variant), and the results of cross-sectoral evaluations, it is necessary to adjust the control mechanism for overseas travel.

The latest regulation states that the government has cut the duration of quarantine for Indonesian citizens (WNI) and foreign nationals (WNA) from abroad who enter Indonesia. The duration of quarantine from abroad which was originally 14 days became 10 days, and the 10 days became 7 days.

The regulation

In the circular letter handling Covid-19 number 1 of 2022, the mechanism for the regulation is explained as follows:

  • Indonesian citizens from the 14 countries mentioned below are required to quarantine for 10 days. The 14 countries are:
    1. -South Africa
    2. -Angola
    3. -Botswana
    4. -Denmark
    5. -Eswatini
    6. -English
    7. -Lesotho
    8. -Malawi
    9. -Mozambique
    10. -Namibia
    11. -Norway
    12. -France
    13. -Zambia
    14. -Zimbabwe

  • Indonesian citizens who do not come from the 14 countries above are required to quarantine for 7 days. In addition, quarantine actors are required to perform a second RT-PCR on:
    1. -The 6th day of quarantine for foreign travelers who are quarantined for 7 days.
    2. -The 9th day of quarantine for foreign travelers who are quarantined for 10 days.

  • The following are categories of foreign travelers whose quarantine costs are borne by the government. This is also regulated in circular letter number 1 of 2022, namely:
    1. -Indonesian Migrant Workers (PMI)
    2. -Students who have completed their studies abroad
    3. -Government employees returning from official trips abroad
    4. -Indonesian representatives in international competitions or festivals
    5. Meanwhile, Indonesian citizens outside these criteria must undergo quarantine at their own expense. Foreigners are also required to undergo quarantine at their own expense.

  • The government grants quarantine exemptions to Indonesian citizens traveling in urgent circumstances. The criteria for the Indonesian citizens referred to are as follows:
    1. -Life-threatening health conditions
    2. -Health conditions that require special attention
    3. -A member of the main family has died

  • The temporary closure of entry to Indonesia and quarantine obligations are excluded for foreigners with several requirements, namely:
    1. -Diplomatic and service visa holders
    2. -Foreign officials at the ministerial level and above and their entourage making state visits
    3. -Foreigners who enter Indonesia through TCA
    4. -Delegation of G20 member countries
    5. -Foreigners who are respectable people

    So, can foreign enter Indonesia?

    In this case, in summary, the government limits the entry of foreign nationals (WNA) into Indonesia, either directly or in transit and or previously lived within the last 14 days. This is done because the distribution of the Omicron variant is getting faster.

    This new rule is contained in the Circular Letter of the Task Force for Handling COVID-19 Number 1 of 2022 concerning Health Protocols for Overseas Travel During the Corona Virus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Pandemic, which will take effect on January 7, 2022, until an unspecified time.

    In total there are 14 countries are banned including South Africa, Botswana, Norway, and France, as well as countries that are geographically close to these countries, namely Angola, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Eswatini, Lesotho.

    Including countries with more than 10,000 Omicron cases, namely England and Denmark.

    Although there is a ban on entering Indonesia for foreign nationals, there are some exceptions that apply, namely for foreigners who have diplomatic and service visas related to official/state visits who enter Indonesia with the travel corridor arrangement scheme, delegates of G20 member countries, and foreigners in Indonesia. under 15 years.

    Then, foreigners who in the last 14 days did not have a travel history to these 14 countries, foreigners who have not been vaccinated because of comorbidities, KITAS and KITAP holders.

    Meanwhile, Indonesian citizens who travel from abroad are still allowed to enter Indonesia provided that they must meet the terms and conditions as described above.