Singapore Tightens Travel Rules

Singapore tighten travel
Indonesia and Singapore Discuss Collaboration to Improve Tourism and Transportation Connectivity

Singapore will tighten travel rules for travelers wishing to enter or transit through the country from September 9. Not only for travelers but the travel rules also apply to Singaporean citizens and permanent residence permits holders.

“This implementation is to reduce transmitting Covid-19’s risk,”

said the Singapore’s Ministry of Health.

As reported by Channel News Asia, the Singapore Authority divides countries into four categories, namely category I until category IV. Hong Kong, Macau, Mainland China, and Taiwan fall into category I, and Singapore doesn’t provide information on travel conditions in this category.

For category II there are Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Germany, New Zealand, and South Korea. Then, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Sweden, and Switzerland fall into category III.

Meanwhile for category IV, are other countries and regions that are not mentioned in categories I, II, and III. This means that Indonesia is included in category IV.

The travel requirements that must be met by travelers from category II, III, IV countries are showing a negative PCR test result taken within 48 hours before departure to Singapore.

Still quoted from Channel News Asia, all travelers must also undergo isolation at home for seven days, by taking a PCR test before the isolation period ends. If travelers can show proof of Covid-19 vaccination, then they can apply not to carry out isolation at facilities designated by the government.

Travelers can self-isolate for 14 days in their chosen accommodation. Applications will be considered if the traveler is in their country of origin for 21 consecutive days after being vaccinated before their departure to Singapore.