In One Week, The Government Will Eliminate Premium Fuel Oil

Premium Fuel Oil

Fuel oil with an octane rating (RON) of 88 or Premium will soon become “extinct” in Indonesia. This fuel is considered to be of low quality. Therefore, the government will remove it starting January 1, 2023.

This decision was taken after studying and paying attention to many things. One of them is the world’s increasing awareness of the surrounding environment. The Director General of Oil and Gas (Dirjen Migas) of the Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources (ESDM) Tutuka Ariadji explained this.

“Yes, so of course, we also have to pay attention to the world as these environmental specifications are getting higher and higher, we are moving from Euro 4 to Euro 5 standards. So starting next year there will officially be no RON 88, so 90 and above (Pertalite) (which may be sold) ),” said Tutuka quoted Monday (26/12/2022).

The Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources previously said that fuel octane below RON 90 would be phased out on January 1, 2023. That way, BBM below RON 90, including Premium RON 88 belonging to Pertamina gas stations and Revvo 89 belonging to Vivo gas stations, may no longer be on the market starting in early 2023.

However, Pertalite RON 90 fuel will still be on the market. Given, this type of fuel has met the standards and quality.

“Not deleted (Pertalite),” said Director of Engineering and Environment of the Directorate General of Oil and Gas Mirza Mahendra, Wednesday (7/9/2022).

He said the product being sold at the Vivo gas station, Revvo 89, actually fulfilled the characteristics of the Ron 88 itself. Therefore, this product will be included in the next BBM list which will be removed after Premium.

At least, PT Vivo Energi Indonesia has until the end of 2022 to sell Revvo 89 BBM products. This is because, starting January 1, 2023, the government will ban the sale of BBM with an octane rating below RON 90.

“Starting January 1, 2023, the 88 gasoline type will not be marketed domestically from that date,” said Mirza.