Indonesia Enters New Zealand’s List of Risk Countries

New Zealand

New Zealand has designated Indonesia as a high-risk country due to the increasing number of Covid-19 cases. As a result, New Zealand is now restricting travel from Indonesia.

Chris Hipkins, New Zealand’s Minister of Health, said travel to New Zealand from Indonesia is only allowed for their citizens. This includes spouses and New Zealand citizens’ children, as well as parents of dependent children who are a citizen of that country.

Hipkins also said other travelers, including New Zealanders, were required to spend 14 days in self-isolation outside Indonesia before flying to New Zealand. The same rule applies to Fiji.

For additional information, New Zealand plans to reopen the border for international travelers in the first quarter of 2022. However, the opening of the border will be carried out carefully by paying attention to vaccination developments.

The plan is that fully vaccinated travelers from low-risk countries aren’t required to be quarantined. However, arrivals from moderate-risk countries will need to complete some form of quarantine.

Before New Zealand, several other countries have also restricted travel from Indonesia. Some of them are Singapore, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Saudi Arabia, Oman, European countries with Schengen visas, and Hong Kong.