Special Travel Visas to Bali for 23 Countries Officially Opened, Get Ready to Travel!

Ngurah Rai Airport, Bali

Official! The Directorate General of Immigration at the Ministry of Law and Human Rights of the Republic of Indonesia issued a regulation on opening a visa on arrival for foreign nationals. Foreigners from 23 countries are allowed special tours only in Bali.

This rule came into effect Monday (7/3/2022). However, the rules only apply to tourists who will visit Bali.

Regarding the explanation of the rules, the Sub-Coordinator of Public Relations of the Directorate General of Immigration, Achmad Nur Saleh, explained, “There are 23 countries that are the subject of this special tourist VOA facility. It should be underlined that VOA specifically for tourism can only be obtained by foreign subjects if they enter Indonesian territory through a checkpoint immigration (TPI) at I Gusti Ngurah Rai Airport, Bali. However, foreigners holding VOA Special Tours can leave Indonesian territory through any TPI, not necessarily in Bali.”

Furthermore, Achmad said there are special requirements that must be prepared for foreigners to get a special VOA for tourism. They are required to have a passport that is still valid for at least 6 months until a ticket to return to their country.

“Requirements that must be prepared by foreigners to get a VOA Special for Tourism when at the Immigration counter are a passport that is still valid for at least 6 (six) months, a return ticket or a canal ticket to continue traveling to another country and other documents required following the provisions of the Unit of The covid-19 task,” he said.

The PNBP tariff for tourism-specific VOA is enforced under the Attachment of Government Regulation No. 28 of 2019, which is Rp. 500,000.

“A Stay Permit originating from VOA for Tourism is a Visit Stay Permit (ITK), which is granted for a maximum period of 30 days and can be extended for a maximum of 1 (one) time. The ITK extension is granted for 30 days and is carried out at the immigration office according to the area where the foreigner lives while in Indonesia. The Visit Stay Permit from VOA Special for Tourism cannot be transferred,” concluded Achmad.

Furthermore, he warned both foreigners and tourism industry players to cooperate with immigration officials. The owner or manager of the inn is obliged to provide information or data regarding foreigners staying overnight to facilitate the supervision of foreigners.
“Foreigners who do not use VOA Special Tourism following the intent and purpose of providing these facilities will be subject to immigration sanctions. Likewise, if they are proven to have violated health protocols and disrupt public order, they will be subject to sanctions following applicable laws and regulations,” said Achmad.

The countries that are allowed to travel to Bali using a special tourist visa on arrival are:

  1. Australia
  2. the United States of America
  3. Holland
  4. Brunei Darussalam
  5. Philippine
  6. English
  7. Italy
  8. Japan
  9. Germany
  10. Cambodia
  11. Canada
  12. South Korea
  13. Laos
  14. Malaysia
  15. Myanmar
  16. France
  17. Qatar
  18. New Zealand
  19. Singapore
  20. Thailand
  21. Turkey
  22. the United Arab Emirates
  23. Vietnamese