Jokowi Validates Rules for 3 New Provinces

Jokowi validates rules regarding 3 new provinces in Papua.

Indonesia has 3 new provinces. This is after the President of Indonesia, Joko Widodo (Jokowi), officially signed three regulations for the formation of a new province in Papua. The three provinces are South Papua, Central Papua, and Papua Mountains.

The legal basis for the formation of the three provinces is stated in Law (UU) 14/2022, Law 15/2022, and Law 16/2022. Jokowi signed the three legal umbrellas on July 25, 2022, as quoted Monday (1/8/2022).

“That the division of territory in Papua needs to pay attention to the aspirations of the Papuan people to accelerate equity, development, improve public services, and public welfare as well as raise the dignity of the Papuan people, especially in Merauke Regency, Boven Digoel Regency, Mappi Regency, and Asmat Regency,” the sound of the considerations of the three rules.

The three regulations regulate the coverage of the 3 new provinces of Papua. Here are the details:

South Papua

  • Merauke Regency
  • Boven Digoel Regency
  • Mappi Kabupaten Regency
  • Asmat Regency

Central Papua

  • Nabire Regency
  • Puncak Jaya Regency
  • Paniai Regency
  • Mimika Regency
  • Puncak Regency
  • Dogiyai Regency
  • Intan Jaya Regency
  • Deiyai ​​Regency

Papua Mountains

  • Jayawijaya Regency
  • Bintang Mountain Regency
  • Yahukimo Regency
  • Tolikara Regency
  • Central Mamberamo Regency
  • Yalimo Regency
  • Lanny Jaya Regency
  • Nduga Regency

This legal umbrella also stipulates that the inauguration and inauguration of governor officials will be carried out by the Minister of Home Affairs no later than six months after this regulation is promulgated.

Previously, three bills (RUU) for the establishment of the new autonomous region of Papua were officially ratified in the plenary meeting of the House of Representatives (DPR) on Thursday (30/6/2022).

With this, Papua officially has five provinces. The other two provinces are Central Papua and West Papua.