The Latest 15 Authorities of Jakarta After No Longer Being the Capital

Jakarta International Stadium (JIS)

In the upcoming days, Jakarta is poised to relinquish its status as the capital of Indonesia. This development comes after the Indonesian House of Representatives (DPR RI) endorsed the Special Capital Region of Jakarta Province Bill (RUU DKJ) as a Law on Thursday (28/3/2024). Consequently, Jakarta’s role as the capital will transition to that of a central economic hub, endowed with 15 distinct authorities. But what are these 15 authorities exactly?

During the approval process at the 14th Plenary Session of the DPR’s 2023-2024 session, Supratman Andi Agtas, Chairman of the Legislative Body (Baleg) DPR, outlined the key provisions of the Law, which was the sole rejection among the 9 Factions in the DPR, notably by the PKS Faction.

“The deliberations on the DKJ Bill, which have culminated in 12 chapters and 73 articles, have yielded certain outcomes,” stated Supratman while presenting the outcomes of the DKJ Bill deliberations alongside the government at the Baleg during the DPR’s plenary session at the DPR Building in Jakarta on Thursday (28/3/2024).

Supratman emphasized that the essence of the DKJ Law lies in refining the definition of Agglomeration Areas and establishing provisions regarding the appointment of the chairman and members of the agglomeration council by the President, with detailed regulations to follow in Presidential Regulations or Perpres.

Moreover, it entails provisions concerning the direct election of the Governor and Deputy Governor of DKJ by the residents of Jakarta through an electoral mechanism.

Furthermore, it involves augmenting the minimum allocation of funds, constituting at least 5%, for villages sourced from the DKJ APBD to address social issues in accordance with workload and administrative requirements.

Read Also: Bank Indonesia Highlights 3 Major Challenges Threatening Financial System Stability

Additionally, the DKJ Law encompasses 15 distinctive authorities. These 15 authorities include:

  1. special authority for public works and spatial planning;
  2. public housing and settlement areas;
  3. investment;
  4. transportation;
  5. environment;
  6. industry;
  7. tourism and creative economy;
  8. trade;
  9. education;
  10. health;
  11. culture;
  12. population control and family planning;
  13. population administration and civil registration;
  14. marine and fisheries; and
  15. employment.

Another aspect pertains to prioritizing the advancement of Betawi culture and other cultural facets thriving in Jakarta, involving the participation of traditional Betawi institutions and culture, alongside establishing a cultural endowment fund fueled by the APBD.

Furthermore, it involves adjustments concerning revenue derived from specific licensing fees for spatial utilization activities, with tariff determination procedures governed by legislation.

“Moreover, additional provisions are outlined pertaining to land,” he concluded.