Government Turns Off Analog Tv in 4 Provinces


After turning off analog TV broadcasts in the Jabodetabek area last November, this time the government is continuing the program by turning off broadcasts in four provinces.

The four provinces are West Java, Central Java, DI Yogyakarta, and the Riau Islands. 4 provinces have turned off their analog broadcasts as of December 2, 2022, at 24:00 WIB.

On the other hand, the blackout of analog TV broadcasts also caused problems for residents who were participating in the Qatar World Cup. One of them is the people of the Special Region of Yogyakarta (DIY) who have run out of stock of STB.

Residents flocked to hunt for set-top boxes (STB) so they could still enjoy digital television broadcasts. Some residents reasoned that they needed an STB so they could still watch the Qatar 2022 World Cup on television. The World Cup is currently being excited because it has entered the knockout phase.

Some electronics stores in the DIY area have run out of STB stock due to high demand. In one of the shops on Jalan Glagahsari, Umbulharjo, Yogyakarta City, for example, the STB has run out. The seller promises that next Wednesday it will probably come.

As previously reported, The Ministry of Communication and Information has officially stopped broadcasting analog TV on Wednesday, November 2, 2022, at 24.00 WIB. This analog switch-off (ASO) is in effect at 222 points, including Jabodetabek, and its implementation will be gradually expanded.

In total, there are 514 points targeted to carry out ASO. The analog TV migration ceremony to digital TV was attended by the Minister of Communication and Informatics Johnny Gerard Plate and the Coordinating Minister for Political, Legal, and Security Affairs Mahfud MD.

“This is a mandate from Law Number 11 of 2020 concerning Job Creation, which states that the terrestrial television migration will be completed no later than November 2, 2022, or a few minutes ago,” said Mahfud MD through Kominfo’s YouTube broadcast, Thursday, November 3, 2022.

In fact, analog TV broadcasts have been on the air for the last 60 years. In line with the implementation of television broadcast migration or ASO, the government has begun to distribute set-top boxes or STBs to poor households nationally. STB distributed in the amount of 1,055,360 units.

As of November 3, 2022, 476 thousand units or 99.3% have been given to beneficiaries in the Greater Jakarta area.

To continue to be able to enjoy television broadcasts, residents in the area must immediately switch to digital television. Digital TV broadcasts can be captured using digital TV or analog TV by adding a Set Top Box (STB) device