Philippines Lifted Entry Ban for 10 Countries

Philippines lifted entry ban

Rodrigo Duterte, President of the Philippines lifted the coronavirus ban on travelers from 10 countries. The Philippines lifted the entry ban on travelers from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Oman, Thailand, Malaysia, and Indonesia as of September 6.

However, tourists from those 10 countries will have to spend 14 days in quarantine upon arrival.

“However, international travelers arriving from the above-mentioned countries must adhere to the appropriate entry, testing, and quarantine protocols,”

said Harry Roque, spokesman for the Philippine Presidency (4/9), quoted from Philippines News Agency (PNA).

It is known, the ban on entry to the Philippines has been in place since the end of April with the aim of preventing Covid-19 transmissions.

Travelers who are not from the 10 countries above are not allowed to enter the Philippines unless they are holders of special diplomatic visas or have a Filipino partner.

For additional information, as of September 3, the Philippines recorded 20,310 new cases, with a total of 2,040,568 confirmed cases. Delta became the dominant variant that spread in this country. In fact, the number of cases is expected to continue to grow.

Previously, the Government of Saudi Arabia had already lifted the entry ban for Indonesian citizens (WNI) and citizens of 19 other countries on Tuesday, August 24.