Updates! Government Cuts Quarantine Period To 3 Days with Several Conditions.


After previously imposing a quarantine period of 7 and 5 days, this time the government cut the quarantine time to 3 days for arrivals to Indonesia. However, several things must be fulfilled by Foreign Travel Actors (PPLN) so that they can get this 3-day quarantine.

This decision is contained in Circular Number 7 of 2022 concerning Health Protocols for Overseas Travel during the Corona Disease 2019 (Covid-19) Pandemic. This new rule will take effect from February 16, 2022, until a future date is determined.

So, with the enactment of this SE, SE 4/2022 concerning the Health Protocol for Overseas Travel During the CoronaVirus Disease 2019 (Covid-19) Pandemic is revoked and declared invalid.

In the Circular, it is explained that quarantine for 3 x 24 hours for foreign travelers applies to those who have received the third dose of vaccine or booster vaccine.

More fully, quarantine for 7 x 24 hours is enforced for foreign travelers who have received the first dose of the vaccine. Then, quarantine for 5 x 24 hours applies to foreign travelers who have received the second dose of the vaccine.

Then, for overseas travelers who are 18 years old or under 18 years of age and need special protection, the duration of quarantine follows the provisions imposed on their parents or caregivers/travel companions.

However, although the quarantine period can be reduced to 3 days, the circular explains that the government emphasizes that all PPLNs are required to re-test RT-PCR at the arrival gate and after that, they are required to undergo centralized quarantine.

Meanwhile, the Minister of Tourism and Creative Economy, Sandiaga Salahuddin Uno explained, “The reduction in the 3-day quarantine period applies to those who have boosted and continue to carry out the PCR exit test on the third day. And on the fifth day do a self-contained PCR test. If the situation continues to improve. Please this is a reference and guide for the industry. We are heading in the right direction but remain careful about what needs to be improved in the implementation of health protocols. Because we received reports that the level of community compliance with health protocols has decreased drastically by up to 50 percent.”

Entrance to Indonesia

The government has designated 7 airports as entrances to Indonesia, namely Soekarno Hatta Airport in Banten, Juanda Airport in East Java, Ngurah Rai Airport in Bali, Hang Nadim Airport in Riau Islands, Raja Haji Fisabilillah Airport in Riau Islands, Sam Ratulangi Airport in North Sulawesi, and Zainuddin Abdul Majid Airport in West Nusa Tenggara.

Meanwhile, for the entrance by sea, there are five ports set by the government, namely Tanjung Benoa Bali, Batam Riau Islands, Tanjung Pinang Riau Islands, Bintan Riau Islands, and Nunukan North Kalimantan.

In addition, there are 3 entrances to Indonesia through cross-border posts (PLBN), namely Aruk West Kalimantan, Entikong West Kalimantan and Motaain NTT.