Indonesia is extending its border restriction on foreign nationals to curb Covid-19 transmission. This is said by Airlangga Hartarto, chairman of the Covid-19 Response and Economic Recovery Committee (KPC-PEN). The ban is extended until February 8, 2021.

Authorities decided on these extensions as the nation’s Covid-19 cases continue to soar. In response, the COVID-19 Task Force issued Circular Letter No. 4 of 2020, which temporarily bans the entry of all foreign visitors except for high-level government officials or foreigners with work or residency permits.

Returning Indonesian citizens and foreigners who can still enter the country must present evidence that they have tested negative for COVID-19 within 48 hours before departure, register on the eHAC mobile application before the trips, quarantine for five days at designated facilities upon arrival, and obtain a negative result from another COVID-19 test before leaving the isolation premises. All international travelers are also encouraged to download the PeduliLindungi contact-tracing application.

The PPKM (movement restrictions) in Jakarta, Banten, West Java, Central Java, Yogyakarta, East Java, and Bali, as well as 77 regencies/cities, has not proven effective to curb transmission.

Of the seven provinces where the PPKM is enacted, only Banten and Yogyakarta have shown declining rates of transmission. All non-rail domestic travelers must register on the Health Alert Card (eHAC) mobile application before travel and are advised to download the PeduliLindungi contact-tracing application.