Indonesian Duo Still Tops BWF World Ranking


The Badminton World Federation (BWF) has updated the world badminton rankings. From the men’s doubles number, the Indonesian duo, Marcus Fernaldi Gideon/Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo, are still at the top of the standings.

The world badminton federation (BWF) released an updated world ranking of the players after the Japan Open 2022, Tuesday (6/9/2022).

From the men’s doubles, no changes have occurred in the latest BWF rankings. The pair of Marcus Fernaldi Gideon / Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo are still at the top.

Although the pair nicknamed the Minions did not excel at the 2022 World Championship and Japan Open, they have not been overtaken by their rivals.

Marcus/Kevin lost in the third round of the 2022 World Championship, while at the Japan Open 2022 the Minions stopped in the last 16. Even so, Marcus / Kevin are firmly in first place with a total of 107,527 points.

On the other hand, Mohammad Ahsan/Hendra Setiawan experienced changes. The men’s doubles, nicknamed The Daddies, had to be willing to drop one place after being shifted by Lee Yang/Wang Chi-lin (Taiwan).

Ahsan/Hendra, who reached the final of the 2022 World Championship and were eliminated in the second round of the Japan Open 2022, collected 98,845 points and ranked fourth in the world.

Meanwhile, Fajar Alfian/Muhammad Rian Ardianto has not moved from sixth place with a score of 86,855 points. One point behind Aaron Chia/Soh Wooi Yik (Malaysia) who won the 2022 World Championship.

The following is the update of the top 10 BWF Men’s Doubles Ranking

  1. Marcus Fernaldi Gideon/Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (Indonesia) – 107,527
  2. Takuro Hockey/Yugo Kobayashi (Japan) – 102.050
  3. Lee Yang/Wang Chi Lin (Taiwan) – 99,468
  4. Mohammad Ahsan/Hendra Setiawan (Indonesia) – 98,845
  5. Aaron Chia/Soh Wooi Yik (Malaysia) – 91,428
  6. Fajar Alfian/Muhammad Rian Ardianto (Indonesia) – 86,855
  7. Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen (Denmark) – 81.369
  8. Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty (India) – 80,016
  9. Ong Yew Sin/Teo Ee Yi (Malaysia) – 72,490
  10. Choi Sol-gyu/Seo Seung-jae (South Korea) 69,750