541 Foreigners Rejected in 2021


The Soekarno-Hatta (Soetta) Special Class I Immigration Office has rejected 541 foreign nationals (WNA) to enter Indonesia from January 1 to November 9, 2021. The hundreds of foreigners were rejected upon arrival at Soetta Airport as the main gate for entering Indonesia. This happened due to the implementation of a selective policy in the midst of a pandemic to prevent imported cases.

The basis for the rejection is contained in the Minister of Law and Human Rights Regulation (Permenkumham) Number 26 of 2020, Permenkumham Number 27 of 2021, and Permenkumham Number 34 of 2021.

These three regulations outline the criteria for foreigners who may or may not enter Indonesian territory during the Covid-19 pandemic.

The Directorate General of Immigration strictly enforces these basic rules at the Soekarno-Hatta immigration checkpoint (TPI), which is the main gate for crossings in and out of Indonesia. This is one of the efforts to maintain national security from the threat of the Covid-19 virus.

Foreigners who were rejected came from 71 countries. The top five most foreigners getting rejected come from Pakistan (75 foreigners), India (64 foreigners), Nigeria (53 foreigners), China (50 foreigners), and the United States (46 foreigners).

On the other hand, there were 167,369 foreigners who entered Indonesian territory from January 1 to November 9, 2021.

Source: Beritasatu, CNN